Congratulations to the MCDB & NSCI Prize Recipients!

May 28, 2019

Congratulations Class of 2019 prize winners! 

The recipients of the Class of 2019’s MCDB Edgar J. Boell Prize (Excellence in Senior Research) are as follows:

  • Nicole Eskow (Pierson College): Role of MKL1 in Fetal Megakaryopoiesis
  • Omair Khan (Branford College): Discovering non-canonical Open Reading Frames (ORFs) that control Mucosal Immunity
  • Christina Stankey (Benjamin Franklin College): Role of Enteroendocrine Cells in Nutrient Sensing in the Gastrointestinal Tract
  • Brendan Rooney (Benjamin Franklin College): Using Behavioral, Pharmacological, Cellular and Brain Activity Mapping Tools to Study ASK-Risk Genes in a Zebrafish Model
  • Ariela Schear (Davenport College): Determining the Regulatory Function of an UTR Motif Upstream of purF
  • Leslie Wang (Jonathan Edwards College): Design and Construction of Strains for the Evolution of Orthogonal Aminoacyl-tRNA Synthetases-tRNA Pair in Escherichia coli for the Genetic Encoding of Nonstandard Amino

The recipients of the Class of 2019’s William Belknap Prize (Excellence in Academics) are as follows:

  • Claire Altany (Branford College): Modeling the Effects of E-cadherin Downregulation in Basal-Like Breast Cancer Metastasis
  • Yuyang Liu (Pauli Murray College): Identifying Metabolic Vulnerabilities Associated with Hyperactive O-Glcnacylation by Crispr Screen
  • Charlotte Brannon (Trumbull College): Differential Cell Leakage from Bacterial Chemotactic Waves in Soft Agar
  • John Lee (Grace Hopper College): Searching for the Counter Receptor of Immune Modulating Molecule PD-1H

The recipients of the Class of 2019’s NSCI Prize (funded by the Kavli Institute of Neuroscience) are as follows:

  • Angus Fong (Timothy Dwight): Dynamic Functional Connectivity During Task Performance and Rest Predicts Individual Differences in Attention Across Studies
  • Geeta Rao (Grace Hopper College): Sex Differences in Pupillary Diameter as a Biomarker for Stress Responsiveness
    (Alex Kwan)