MCDB Faculty

Acar, Murat

Asst. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology and Physics [Ezra Stiles College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Systems biology, cellular aging, noise in gene expression, evolution of gene networks, synthetic biology, gene regulatory networks.

600 B27, 850 West Campus Drive
P.O. Box 27391
West Haven, CT  06516-7391
murat.acar@yale.edu
Phone: 203-737-3255

Bahmanyar, Shirin

Asst. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Berkeley College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Organelle structure, lipid synthesis, nuclear envelope, lamins, high resolution microscopy, cellular dynamics, C elegans.

YSB 116, 260 Whitney Ave.
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103

shirin.bahmanyar@yale.edu
Phone: 203 432-5561

Bazell, Robert

Adjunct Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology

YSB 145, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
robert.bazell@yale.edu
Phone: 203 432-5978

Belperron, Alexia #

Res. Sci., Medicine (Rheumatology) & Lect., Mol Cell & Dev Biology;
Advisor, Center for Science and Quantitative Reasoning

Study of Immune Responses and Pathogenesis of Tick-Borne Diseases

TAC S-520, 300 Cedar Street
PO Box 208031
New Haven, CT 06520-8031
alexia.belperron@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-7665

Breaker, Ronald R.

Sterling Professor, Mol Cell & Dev Biology; Investigator, Howard Hughes Med. Inst.
[Jonathan Edwards College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

The discovery and analysis of noncoding RNAs, including riboswitches and ribozymes, and the engineering of novel RNA and DNA enzymes by directed evolution.
YSB 311, 260 Whitney Ave.

PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
ronald.breaker@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9389

Breslow, David

Asst. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Investigating the physiologic roles of primary cilia, the cellular processes that support these functions, and the disease states that result from errors in these processes; understanding how the cilium serves as an organizing center for select signaling pathways (e.g. Hedgehog signaling and dissecting the interdependence between cell cycle progression and cilium assembly/disassembly.

YSB 216, 260 Whitney Ave.
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
david.breslow@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8280

Carlson, John R.

Eugene Higgins Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Pierson College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

The molecular basis of olfaction, taste, and mate recognition in Drosophila and insects that transmit global disease.

YSB 206, 260 Whitney Ave.
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
john.carlson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3541

Chandra, Sreeganga #

Assoc. Prof., Neurology/Neuroscience and Mol Cell & Dev Biology

Presynaptic Biology; Synapse Maintenance; Parkinson’s Disease; Lysosomal Storage Disease; Neurodegeneration.

BCMM 154D, 295 Congress Ave
PO Box 9812
New Haven, CT 06536-0812
sreeganga.chandra@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-6172

Clark, Damon

Asst. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Grace Hopper College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Drosophila visual behaviors and circuitry; computational and modeling approaches to neural computation.

YSB C148, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
damon.clark@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0750

Cooley, Lynn #

Dean, Graduate School, C.N.H. Long Prof., Genetics & Prof. Cell Biology and Mol Cell & Dev Biology

Molecular genetics of Drosophila oogenesis, control of oocyte growth, ring canals.

SHM I329b, 333 Cedar St
PO Box 208005
New Haven, CT 06520-8005

lynn.cooley@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2733

Crews, Craig M.

Lewis B. Cullman Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology, Prof., Pharm & Chemistry
[Pauli Murray College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Exploration and control of signal transduction pathways using chemical probes.

YSB 250, 260 Whitney Ave
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
craig.crews@yale.edu
crewslab.yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9364

Dawson, Iain

Sr. Lecturer, Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Branford College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Regulation of cell cycle in Drosophila melanogaster.

YSB 145, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
iain.dawson@yale.edu

Phone: 203-432-4539

Dellaporta, Stephen L.

Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Silliman College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Sex determination and cell death in plants.

YSB 325, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208104
New Haven, CT 06520-8104
stephen.dellaporta@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3895

Dimitrova, Nadya

Asst. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Pierson College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Focuses on long non-coding RNAs (IncRNAs) and their roles in the regulation of critical cellular pathways during tumor development.

YSB 211, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
nadya.dimitrova@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3492

Emonet, Thierry

Assoc. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology and Physics; Dir. Grad Studies Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Jonathan Edwards College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

We study how live cells and animals process information, interact, and make decisions using wet lab experiments and computational modeling.

YSB C169, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
thierry.emonet@yale.edu

Phone: 203-432-3516

Forscher, Paul

Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Davenport College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Molecular mechanisms of axon guidance: cytoskeletal protein dynamics and related signal transduction. Biomechanics of cell movement and growth.

YSB 120, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
paul.forscher@yale.edu
Phone: 432-6344, 432-6345

Gendron, Joshua Martin

Asst. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Berkeley College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Plants, circadian clock, protein degradation.

YSB 424, 260 Whitney Ave
New Haven, CT 06511-2106
joshua.gendron@yale.edu
Phone: 432-7317

Hatzios, Stavroula K.

Asst. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Branford College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

The lab works on a broad range of chemical and biological tools to explore the functional proteome of bacterial infections. We are interested in understanding what bacterial and host proteins are active during infection, how they impact molecular interactions between pathogen and host, and how infection-associated environmental cues influence protein function at the host-microbe interface, using Helicobacter pylori and Vibrio cholera in order to uncover biochemical pathways that shape severe gastrointestinal diseases including gastric cancer and cholera.

840 West Campus Dr
Adv Biosciences Ctr, 305B
PO Box 27391
West Haven, CT 06516-7391
stavroula.hatzios@yale.edu
Phone: 737-8121

Hochstrasser, Mark W #

Eugene Higgins Prof., MB&B and Prof. Mol Cell & Dev Biology

We work at the crossroads of biochemistry and genetics and take advantage of the many tools offered by budding yeast as a model eukaryote. The lab studies the dynamics of protein modification by ubiquitin and ubiquitin-related proteins and degradation by the proteasome.

BASS 224, 266 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208114
New Haven, CT 06520-8114
mark.hochstrasser@yale.edu

Phone: 203 432-5101

Holley, Scott A.

Prof. Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Timothy Dwight College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

The systems developmental biology and biomechanics of spinal column development.

YSB 106, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
scott.holley@yale.edu

Phone: 203-432-3230

Horsley, Valerie

Assoc. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Pierson Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Study of the cellular and molecular mechanisms that control stem cell activity and function within epithelial tissues.

YSB 121, 260 Whitney Ave
PO BOX 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103

valerie.horsley@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-9126

Irish, Vivian

Chair and Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Bio, Prof Ecology/ Evolutionary Bio
[Davenport College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Developmental genetics of flowering in Arabidopsis; evolution of plant development.

YSB 425, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208104
New Haven, CT 06520-8104
vivian.irish@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-5572

Isaacs, Farren

Assoc. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Jonathan Edwards College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Developing foundational cellular and biomolecular engineering technologies to understand and engineer biological systems.

300 Heffernan Dr #B31
PO Box 27391
West Haven, CT 06516-7391
farren.isaacs@yale.edu

Phone: 203-432-3783

Iwasaki, Akiko #

Waldemar von Zedtwitz Prof., Immunobiology and Mol Cell & Dev Biology, Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Immune responses to viruses and vaccine design.

TAC S-655b, 300 Cedar St
PO Box 208011
New Haven, CT 06520-8011
akiko.iwasaki@yale.edu

Phone: 203-785-2919

Jacob, Yannick

Asst. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Trumbull College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Study of epigenetics using plants as model systems to understand how the epigenome contributes to basic cellular mechanisms like DNA replication, gene silencing, complex processes like developmental transitions, trans-generational inheritance and aging.

YSB 416, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208104
New Haven, CT 06520-8104
yannick.jacob@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8908

   

Kankel, Douglas R.

Prof. & Dir. Undergrad Studies, Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Benjamin Franklin College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Nervous system development and function in Drosophila melanogaster.

YSB 111, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
douglas.kankel@yale.edu

Phone: 203-432-3839

Kavathas, Paula #

Prof., Lab Med, Immunobiology and Mol Cell & Dev Biology

Study of immune response in lung cancer patients undergoing immunotherapy.

TAC S-641a, 300 Cedar St
PO Box 208035
New Haven, CT 06520-8035

paula.kavathas@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-6223

Keshishian, Haig S.

Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Morse College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Factors governing the formation of synaptic connections during development.

YSB 228, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
haig.keshishian@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3478

Miller-Jensen, Kathryn #

Asst. Prof., Bio Eng & Mol Cell Dev Biology

We use quantitative systems biology approaches to study signaling in innate immunity and viral infection.

MEC 311, 55 Prospect St
PO Box 208260
New Haven, CT 06520-8260

kathryn.miller-jensen@yale.edu
Phone: (203) 432-4265

Mooseker, Mark S.

Ross Granville Harrison Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Grace Hopper College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Functional characterization of the myosin family of actin filament based molecular motors.

YSB 240, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
mark.mooseker@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3468

Moreno, Maria

Research Scientist & Sr. Lect. Mol Cell & Dev Biology, Academic Dir. Science, Technology & Research Scholars (STARS) Program
[MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Research interests focus on technologies for population genomics to enhance food security.

YSB 149, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208104
New Haven, CT 06520-8104
maria.moreno@yale.edu

Phone: 203-436-4161

Nelson, F. Kenneth

Assoc. Rsrch. Scientist & Sr. Lect. Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Morse College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Flow cytometry analysis and sorting.

YSB 137, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
kenneth.nelson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-5013

Pollard, Thomas D.

Sterling Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology, Prof. MB&B
[Morse College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Molecular mechanisms of actin-based cellular movements.

YSB 125, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
thomas.pollard@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3565

Pyle, Anna Marie

William Edward Gilbert Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology; Investigator Howard Hughes Med Inst; Prof. Chemistry

[MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Biological function and molecular structures of noncoding RNAs,
viral RNA genomes and the nanomechanical proteins that act on
RNA, such as RNA helicases and innate immune receptors (RIG-I
and Mda-5).

YSB 306, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
anna.pyle@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-5633

Rodeheffer, Matthew #

Asst. Prof., Comparative Med and Mol Cell & Dev Biology

Obesity, which is defined as an excessive increase in white adipose tissue (fat) mass, is the leading public health concern of modern society. Despite the importance of fat in human disease our understanding of the regulation of fat mass is extremely limited. The research in my laboratory is directed toward elucidating the cellular and molecular mechanisms that regulate fat mass and contribute to the development of obesity and obesity associated pathologies, such as diabetes and heart disease.

BML 329d, 310 Cedar Street
PO Box 208016
New Haven, CT 06520-8016
matthew.rodeheffer@yale.edu

Phone: 203-737-3370

Rosenbaum, Joel L.

Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Silliman College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

The assembly of cilia and its dependence on Intraflagellar Transport (IFT); the role of IFT proteins in ciliopathies; cilia as secretory organelles involved in cell and organismal communication.

YSB 239, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
joel.rosenbaum@yale.edu

Phone: 203-432-3472

Schepartz, Alanna #

Sterling Prof., Chemistry, Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology

Our laboratory studies questions that span the combined interfaces of chemistry, biology, medicine, biophysics, and biotechnology. We seek to understand the fundamental chemistry that controls and regulates protein and small molecule interactions in cells and apply this knowledge to manipulate cell function and drive the development of next-generation therapeutics.

CRB 310, 275 Prospect St
PO Box 208107
New Haven, CT 0652907196
alanna.schepartz@yale.edu

Phone: 203-432-5094

van Wolfswinkel, Josien

Asst. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Branford College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Study of RNA biology and genome regulation of pluripotent stem cells using the regenerating flatworm Schmidtea mediterranea.

YSB 207, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
josien.van.wolfswinkel@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3520

Wolenski, Joseph S.

Research Scientist & Sr. Lecturer Mol Cell & Dev Biology, Dir. Light Microscopy Imaging Facility
[Berkeley College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Fluorescence microscopy imaging

YSB C112, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 0620-8103
joseph.wolenski@yale.edu

Phone: 203-432-6912

Wyman, Robert J.

Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Grace Hopper Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Molecular biology and neurophysiology of gap junctions; genetic control of neural circuit development.

YSB 139, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103
robert.wyman@yale.edu

Phone: 203-432-3475

Yan, Jing

Asst. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Biophysical, genetic and molecular tools to understand how bacteria switch from free-living lifestyle into a biofilm.

YSB C144, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103

weimin.zhong@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9233

Zhong, Weimin

Assoc. Prof., Mol Cell & Dev Biology
[Davenport College Fellow & MCDB Faculty Advisor]

Regulation of stem cells and development of the mammalian neocortex.

YSB 225, 260 Whitney Ave
PO Box 208103
New Haven, CT 06520-8103

weimin.zhong@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9233